Jay & Jo | Grounded and Light

$15 $11

Saskatchewan-based Jay & Jo offer an impressive debut with their distinct sound of well-crafted, sparkling voiced, sophisticatedly charming, weighty-light roots/folk/country tunes on their newly released Grounded and Light. In two short years, Jay & Jo have been busy playing venues between the east and west coasts of Canada, were featured in the Roots Café for the 2016 SCMAs (Saskatchewan Country Music Awards), nominated for Roots Artist of the Year at the 2017 SCMAs, and, in the summer of 2017, were “train car” musicians on VIA Railway, sharing their distinctive sound with people from around the world as the travelled the rails across Canada. Jay & Jo (Janaya and Jolissa Trudel) are a vibrant, dynamic sister duo settled in the heart of the Saskatchewan prairies creating an organic, truly honest sound with sparkling harmonies, tasteful musicianship with a lyrically keen introspective, yet outwardly observing eye. With their debut album Grounded and Light, vocalists, songwriters, and multi-instrumentalists, Jay & Jo offer a new voice in the traditional folk/roots/country scene with well-crafted songs, splendid harmonies, and sparkling personalities that are felt through their music. 

(An excerpt from a review by “The Riz, with Canadian Beats”)

Out of stock



Track Listing:

  1. The Roadtrip Song
  2. A Firefly’s Lament
  3. If I Were
  4. Grey Sky
  5. Home
  6. Brother
  7. Homesick Heart
  8. Cantaloupe Moon (Bonus Track)